The Kuro-mon Gate (The Black Gate) In Nakayama Hokekyo-ji
The Kuro-mon Gate ( The Black Gate) And The Framed Letters In Nakayama
Hokekyo-ji Temple is designated as the tangible cultural property by Ichikawa city.
The So-mon Gate (The Main Gate) is commonly called the Kuro-mon Gate (The
Black Gate), it stands on the approach from Keisai Nakayama Station. Visitors
taking off at Shimousa Nakayama Station and Keisei Nakayama Station first
pass this gate.
This gate is the So-mon ( the main gate) of Nakayama Hokekyo-ji Temple,
but all parts belonged to it was painted in black, then it is called Kuro-mon
( the Black Gate). The date of construction is unknown, maybe it was built
the same ages of the Akamon's in early Edo Period
The architectural structure of the gate is called Korai-mon gate style that is made of two squared main pillars and two round sub pillers, and a thin gabled roof was put on the top of the main pillers, below the rooof, small gabled roofs are put on the main pillars and sub pillars in each. Originally, Korai-mon gate was used in the castles, therefore they usually have doors. But there are no marks that doors put on, therefore it might have had doors since it had been built.
After constructed, it had repaired several times because the sub pillars
are earthfast post, then they need to exchang every fifty years, and it
also needs to reroof and paint on. The main structure including the main
pillars has remained the original style.
Besides the framed letters on the gate was written by Sukenobu Ota, the
lord of Kakegawa in 1793. It is also designated as the tangible cultural
property by Ichikawa city. The frame was painted and the letters were carved
in low relief.
It started frome July of 2009 and spent seventeen months to tear down and repair the Kuro-mon gate. The fudation newly made of concrete, and the sub pillars are exchanged. And the coppers on the roof shingles were changed, then the gate was painted. In addition, the framed letters were fixed.
Sukenobu Ota and Ota Family
The Ota family is descendant of Seiwa-Ganji Clan
, one of the noble family of samurai. The son of Yorimasa Minamoto, Kunitsuna
moved to Ota-go, Kuwata-gun, Tanba-no-kuni (West part of kyoto), then the
descendant, Sukekuni named Ota, thereafter the family has called Ota. Sukekuni
moved to Sagami-no-kuni
(southern part of Kanagawa Prefecture
), then his son served Ougigayatsu Uesugi Clan
(One of the most influential clan to control Kanto region and one of the
chief counselors of the shogun) and he built the castle at Kawagoe
(Kawagoe city, Saitama Prefecture
) and controlled the area. Sukekiyo also became the principle retainaer
of Ougigayatsu Uesugi and the vice military govenor of Sagami. In the battle
of Kyotoku (1455), he fought against Nariuji Ashikaga to guard Akifusa
Uesugi. Sukenaga, the son of Sukekiyo, built the castle at Edo
), so he is the popular samurai, so called 'Dokan Ota
'. He famed in the fought against Kageharua Uesugi in 1476. However, he
was assassinated by his master, Sadamasa Uesugi
in1486. His son named his direct descendant family Edo Ota Clan, and he
based in Edo. In 1524, Suketaka Ota surrendered to Hojo Clan in Odawara
(Kanagawa prefecture) and opened Edojo castle
. In 1564, Yasusuke Ota set himself against Hojo,but was defeated, then
the family were brought to ruin. After that, the descendants of Dokan Ota
served Hojo in Odawara
(The southern Chiba prefecture
)and Satake in Hitachi-no-kuni (Ibaraki prefecture), finally the Ota served
, the Edo Bakufu
in Edo. The Ota has kept the position of Daimyo (the lord) until Meiji
Era, and the family recieved a viscount.
Sukenobu Ota (1762-1808) who wrote the framed letters on the Kuro-mon was
the third lord of Kakegawa-jo castle
in Kakegawa city
in Sizuoka prefecture
The Access to The Kuro-mon Gate In Nakayama Hokekyoji
The Kuro-mon Gate (The Black Gate) In Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple
- Yonsokumon Gate in Nakayama Hokekyouji Temple has great accessibilities from both Narita and Haneda International Airport.
- From Narita International Airport, take Keisei-line and get off Keisei-Nakayama Sta, take minimally 40 minutes from Narita Airport.. And also take JR Sobu-express line, transfer the line at Funabashi to Sobu-Local line, get off Shimousa-Nakayama Sta.
- From Haneda International Airport, take Keikyu-line bound to Narita, and get off Keisei-Nakayama Sta.
- From Tokyo Sta, take Sobu-Express line bound to Chiba or Narita, transfer the line to Sobu-Local line bound to Chiba, Tsudanuma, or Nishi-Funabashi at Ichikawa Sta, get off Shimousa-Nakayama Sta.
- From Akihabara Sta, take Sobu line bound to Chiba, get off Shimousa-Nakayama Sta.
- Take 0 minute walk from Keisei-Nakayama Sta, and take 3 minutes walk from
- 2-10-1 Nakayama, Ichikawa-shi, Chiba-pref, Japan
The Landmarks in Nakayama Hokekyouji Temple
Takikyakuden is the main hall of Hokekyoji and it has the business office and Kishibojindo Hall dedicated to the goddess of children on the end of the long corrido of the main hall.
In spring, there is millions of cherry blossoms in Hokekyoji and in summer, lotus blooms on ryuo-ike pond. In fall, there are beautiful colored leaves. Every season, visitors could enjoy seeing the sights.
It is characterized the twin hip-and-gable roof structure (hiyoku-irimoya-style), and hengaku written by Koetsu Honami hangs in front.
It was built in early Edo period (1622) by request of Koshitsu Honami supported by Maeda Family in Kaga.
It was built in Kamakura period.
It was moved from Aizen-dou in Kamakura 700 years ago.
It was designed by the famous architect Chuta Ito, it stores many scripts
written by the Founder Nichiren.
It enshrines Kiyomasa Kato, one of the most famous daimyo in Sengoku period.
From Nov 1 to Feb 10, hundreds of Buddhist priests practice severly every year.
The henguku hunged in front of the gate was written by Koetsu Honami, famous artist in Momoyama Period.
It was built for worshipping Jurasetsunyo, Kishibozin, Daikokusama.
It is also called Sou-mon (the main gate).
The founder Nichiren built the small shrine to dedicate the dragon god to pray for rain.
It enshrins Ugazin who is the guardian deity of Hokekyou-ji Temple.
It dedicates Hokushin Myouken Star that the Chiba Family deeply believed in, Hokekyoji traditionally succeeds. In November, Tori-no-ich is held in the site to dedicate the star.
The founder Nichiren preached first time at the Toki's castle called Wkakamiya Yakata. And Toki built a temple 'Hokkeji', it is the origin of Oku no In.
It was built in 1719 by famous caster Ota Suruga-no-kami in Kanda. It is the bigest great Buddha in Chiba prefecture.
Nichijo was the first abbot of Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple and Naki Icho is a gingko tree having a sad legend.
There are some other landmarks in Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple.
Koetsu Honami specially remained his calligraphy in Hokekyo-ji Temple, and Shiki Masaoka, Kafu Nagai discribed it well.
Some tacchue temples are introduced in this page.
There are some noted spots, Kaii Higashiyama Memorial Hall and so on, near Hokekyoji.
Cherry blossoms in Hokekyoji are amazingly wonderful.