Oohi Jinja | Funabashi Daijingu as the first shrine in Kanto
Oohi Jinja or Funabashi Daijingu is an old shrine standing in the business
districts near Funabashi Station. In Katsushikaki, a guidebook describing
Katsushika county in late Edo period, this shrine was called Yuhi Kotaijingu.
Oohi Jinja is in a majestic scenery on a cross on between Narita and Kazusa
Kaido Highway. It was said that this shrine had been built by the Prince Yamato Takeru
on his march to the east provinces. And Nichiren
, Ieyasu Tokugawa
and many samurai worriers believed in this shrine. Now it had been built in the place where Irihi Jinja stands. Amaterasu Omikami
, Toyouke Oogami, Hachiman Oogami
and Kasuga Oogami are dedicated it, and it was entitled as the first shrine
in Kanto Region. On the back of the main hall, there are a beautiful building
called Tokiwa Jinja and a Lighthouse registered as a traditional asset
of Funabashi City. Oohi Jinja Shrine is the wonderful shrine that visitors
enjoy quiet and greenful environment. Why don't you visit it?
The History of Oohi Jinja (Funabashi Daijingu)
The History of Funabashi Daijingu (Oohi Jinja)
The 40th year in the reign of the Emperor Keiko, his son, the Prince Yamato
Takeru reached to these areas and he built a shrine to dedicate the deity
of Ise Jingu during his march to the eastern provinces. The 53rd year of
the reign, the shrine was entitled 'Oohi Jinja' to praise the contributions
of the prince by the Emperor when the Emperor tripped to the east.
In the reign of the Emperoro Goreizei, in Tenki Era, Yoriyoshi and his
son Yoshiie Minamoto
repaired the buildings in this shrine. And in 1151, the government gave
the right to control 6 villages to this shrine. Therefore, Yoshitomo Minamoto
rebuilt the shrine. Moreover, this shrine was called 'Funabashi Daijingu'
in the records at that time.
The venerable Nichiren, the founder of Nichiren Sect in Buddhism, went
on a fast to pray for his sect expanding. And Ieyasu Tokugawa, the founder
of Edo Bakufu
, gave some lands and rebuilt the buildings in the site. The Emperor Meiji
gave some donations to the shrine while his trip to Narashino and Sanrizuka
in Chiba prefecture
The most buildings in this shrine were lost in the fires of battles in
the Meiji Restoration. The main hall was built in 1874, the haiden hall
was in 1889, and other buildings were completed in 1923, 1963 and 1975
in each. The Lighthouse (Tomyo-dai) in the site was registered as a traditional
asset of Funabashi City.
October 20th of 1981
From the priest of Oohi Jinja Shrine
Oohi Jinja Shrine (Funabashi Daijingu Shrine)
- Oohi Jinja Shrine (Funabashi Daijingu Shrine) has great accessibilities from both Narita and Haneda International Airport.
- From Narita International Airport, take Keisei-line and get off Daijingu Shita Sta, take minimally 45 minutes from Narita Airport. And also take JR Sobu-express line, and get off Funabashi Sta.
- From Haneda International Airport, take Keikyu-line bound to Narita, and get off Daijingu Shita Sta.
- Take 1 minute walk from Daijingu Shitai Sta and take 13 minute walk from Funabashi Sta.
- 5-2-1 Miyamoto, Funabashi-shi, Chiba-ken
The Noted Spots in and near Funabashi Daijingu Shrine
Oohi Jinja (Funabashi Daijingu)
It was an old shrine built by the Prince Yamato Takeru.
It dedicates the Prince Yamato Takeru and Ieyasu Tokugawa.
It looks maginificent and strong like a Japanese Castle.
It is the smallest Toshogu dedicating Ieyasu Tokugawa.
The principle image of it said to be carved by Gyoki.
This shrine is appeared on the last page of Edo Meisho Zue.
Ebigawa is a popular spot for viewing cherry blossoms.
This small shrine was built where Yamato Takeru had landed on.