Hojusan Jizoin Enmeiji Temple in Gyotoku
Hojusan Jizoin Enmeiji Temple
belonging to Buzanha
in Shingon Sect
was built in 1596 in Shinyo Hoin, it was soon after Ieyasu Tokugawa
had moved to Edo
. And there are many stone statues of Buddha dedicated in Enmeiji Temple,
especially a Jizo called 'Kubikiri Jizo
(decapitated Jizo)' or Nene Zuka
is famous. Moreover, Hojusan Jizoin Enmeiji Temple is the 28th of the 33 Pilgrimage in Gyotoku and Urayasu
Why don't you visit Hojusan Jizoin Enmeiji Temple?
Hojusan Jizoin Enmeiji Temple
The History of Hojusan Jizoin Enmeiji Temple
Hojusan Jizouin Enmeiji Temple was built in 1596. It belongs to Buzanha
in Shingon shu. It is a branch temple of Zenyoji Temple in Edogawa-ku
. The principle image of Enmeiji Temple is the statue of Kongokai Dainichi
Nyorai (Dainichi Nyorai in Vajradhatu). And the main hall of it is rebuilt
The Events and Landmarks of Hojusan Jizoin Enmeiji Temple
A couple of elopers, Ine and Kyuzaburo, and ferry men helping them were crucified at Imai on the opposite bank of Edogawa River in 1644 since they had broken the law that women were forbidden cross the river by ferry. To hear their poor story, people dedicated a stone Jizo on the bank near Arai Sluice Gate now standing for the repose of them. This Jizo has been called 'Kubikiri Jizo (decapitated Jizo)'. In 1795, the chief priest of Enmeiji Temple rebuilt it and the Jizo was moved to Eneiji Temple later. The Jizo now standing was rebuilt in several decades ago.
Besides, there was Arai Elementary School opening at Enmeiji Temple in 1874, and it was the forerunner of Arai Municipal Elementary School. Then it was called 'Otrera no Gakko (a school in the temple) and there were 34 boys, 13 girls and 1 teacher studying in it at that time.
Kubikiri Jizo (A Decapitated Jizo) in Enmeiji Temple
The History of Kubikiri Jizo (A Decapitated Jizo)
Kubikiri Jiao was originally standing near Arai Sluice Gate now standing
and it was called Nenezuka (the monument of Nene).
Nenezuka was for the repose of a couple of elopers, Ine and Kyuzaburo. In 1644, they were retainers of Hanya Morikawa controlling Oyumi Han in Shimousa and they loved each other and they were escaped to Edo to live together. Ine and Kyuzaburo tried to cross Edogawa River by ferry at Imai, but they were arrested by the officers of Edo Bakufu. Ine, Kyzaburo, ferry men and his wife were crucified at Imai as a warning to others. The ferry men and his wife were buried in their family temples. However, Ine and kyuzaburo were buried in the bank near the gate. To hear their poor story, people dedicated a stone Jizo on the bank for the repose of them.
It was mysterious, the head of the Jizo had to be fallen down on the ground when villegares past it, even if they stuck it on the body with cements again and again, it could be fallen. Therefore they called it 'Kubikiri Jizo'.
The Jizo now standing in Enmeiji Temple was rebuilt by the supporters and the chief priest of Empeiji Temple.
Hojusan Jizoin Enmeiji Temple
- Hojusan Jizoin Enmeiji Temple has a great accessibility from both Narita
and Haneda International Airport.
- From Narita International Airport, take JR Sobu-express line, transfer
the line at Nishi-funabashi to Tozai line of Tokyo Metro bound to Nakano
or Mitaka, get off Myoden Sta. And also take Keisei-line, transfer the
line at Funabashi to Sobu-Local line, and transfer the line at Nishi-funabashi
to Tozai line of Tokyo Metro bound to Nakano or Mitaka, get off Minami
Gyotoku Sta and Urayasu Sta. It takes minimally 60 minutes from Narita
- From Haneda International Airport, take Keikyu-line bound to Narita, transfer the line at Nihonbashi to Tozai line of Tokyo Metro bound to Nishifunabashi, Tsudanuma or Katsutadai, get off Minami Gyotoku Sta and Urayasu Sta.
- From Tokyo (Otemachi) Sta, take Tozai line of Tokyo Metro bound to Nishi-funabashi,
Tsudanuma or Katsutadai, get off Minami Gyotoku Sta and Urayasu Sta.
- From Akihabara Sta, take Sobu line bound to Chiba, Tsudanuma or Nishi Funabashi,
transfer the line at Nishifunabashi to Tozai line of Tokyo Metro, get off
Minami Gyotoku Sta and Urayasu Sta.
- 1-9-2 Arai, Ichikawa-shi, Chiba-ken
The Temples of the 33 Pilgrimage in Gyotoku & Urayasu
The list of the temples of the 33 Pilgrimages in Gyotoku and Urayasu
- 01 Tokuganji : 5-22 Hongyotoku Ichikawa-shi
- 02 Fukusenji :2-7 Futamata Ichikawa-shi
- 03 Choshoji : 8-5 Hongyotoku Ichikawa-shi
- 04 Jishoin : 1-10 Hongyotoku Ichikawa-shi
- 05 Daitokuji : 5-13 Shimonijuku Ichikawa-shi
- 06 Jorinji (abandoned) : around Kawara Ichikawa-shi
- 07 Shogenji : 3-6 Kawara Ichikawa-shi
- 08 Yofukuin : 5-16 Kawara Ichikawa-shi
- 09 Ryugonji (Sorinji) : 3-10-2 Tokagi Ichikawa-shi
- 10 Fukuoji (Sorinji) : 3-10-2 Tokagi Ichikawa-shi
- 11 Ryogokuji : 2-16-4 Koya Ichikawa-shi
- 12 Anyoji : 2-16-35 Koya Ichikawa-shi
- 13 Hosenji : 7-22 Hongyotoku Ichikawa-shi
- 14 Hozenji : 1-25 Honshio Ichikawa-shi
- 15 Jokanji : 23-24 Hongyotoku Ichikawa-shi
- 16 Shingyoji (Kyoshinji) : 38-18 Hongyotoku Ichikawa-shi
- 17 Kyozenji (Kyoshinji) : 38-18 Hongyotoku Ichikawa-shi
- 18 Hoshoji (abandoned) : now brought into 19 Tokuzoji
- 19 Tokuzoji : 8-10 Sekigashima Ichikawa-shi
- 20 Seiganji : 4-8 Oshikiri Ichikawa-shi
- 21 Korinji : 12-20 Oshikiri Ichikawa-shi
- 22 Hodenji : 7-1 Minato Ichikawa-shi
- 23 Enmyoin : 11-21 Minato Ichikawa-shi
- 24 Zenshoji : 18-20 Minato Ichikawa-shi
- 25 Genshinji : 1-16-26 Katori Ichikawa-shi
- 26 Ryozenji : 2-12-18 Ainokawa Ichikawa-shi
- 27 Shinseiji : 1-9-1 Arai Ichiakawa-shi
- 28 Enmeiji : 1-9-2 Arai Ichikawa-shi
- 29 Zenpukuji : 26-27 Todaijima Urayasu-shi
- 30 Kezoin : 3-10-3 Nekozane Urayasu-shi
- 31 Togakuji : 2-4-27 Horie Urayasu-shi
- 32 Hojoin : 4-14-1 Horie Urayasu-shi
- 33 Dairenji : 4-14-2 Horie Urayasu-shi
- extra Fujiwara Kannondo Hall 2-234 Fujiwara-cho Funabashi-shi
* The location of the sixth temple is unknown, and the 16th and 17th are
integrated, and the 18th is brought into the 19th temple.
* Please ask some specific information in each temple.