Mamasan Guhoji Temple The Head Temple of Nichiren Sect
Mamasan Guhoji Temple is one of the oldest temples in Chiba prefecture
. It is said Gyoki
or Kobodaishi Kukai
built Mamasan Guhoji Temple, it has about 1300 years long history. Later
Guhoji Temple joined to Niichiren Sects
in Buddhism, and the venerable Niccho
basically organized. It is said a framed writing on the Niomon (the deva
gate) was written by Kobodaishi and the statues of the guardian gods og
the temple. Mamasan Guhoji Temple is the noted temple in Shimousa
, the daimyo in Shimousa Chiba Clans
and the famous busho for the founder of Edo
) Dokan Ota
donated to this temple during the Warring States Period. Moreover Mamasan
Guhoji Temple was a very popular place to enjoy seeing autumn views in
, the 8th Shogun Yoshimune Tokugawa
, a famous lord Mitsukuni Mito
and a famous haiku poet Issa Kobayashi
had visited. According to Edo Meisho Zue
(a guide book introducing landmarks around Edo written in late Edo period),
could be seen from the site in the temple. Now many tall buildings stand,
and the Imperial Palace could not be seen, but beautiful skylines of Ichikawa
city could be seen. Many poets has loved Mama and Guhoji Temple in Katsushika-gun
Shimousa for thousands years.
In spring, the weeping cherry tree called Fushihima Sakura blooms and flaming
autumn leaves covers the site of Mamasan Guhoji Temple.
Why don't you visit Mamasan Guhoji Temple?
The history of Guhoji Temple
Mamasan Guhoji Temple
According to the records of Guhoji Temple, Gyoki built a small temple here
in Mama to hold a memorial service for the famous beauty in Manyoshu Tekona
in Nara period
. This was the beginning of Guhoji Temple. In Heian period, Kobodaishi
Kukai constructed 7 buildings and named Mamasan Guhoji Temple. Later, it
changed to Tendai Sect from Shingon sect.
On the north, there was Rokushojinja Shrine, the provincial capital of
Shimousa was located on very close to, Mama is the center of Shimousa province.
Therefore there has been the temple since then, and it is supposed that
the temple could be connected to the capital.
In Kamakura period
, the mission of Nichiren
gave much influence around Mama and Shimousa, and his disciple Nichijo
, the founder of Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple
, defeated Ryosho, the chief priest of Guhoji Temple, in argument of Buddhism
in 1275, and he changed to belong to Nichiren sect. The first abbot of
Guhoji Temple of Nichiren sect was Niccho, one of the 6 great disciples
of the Founder Nichiren and the son of Nichijo.
According to documents written by Nichiju in 1358, Mamasan Guhoji owned
many lands and had devotees in Katsushika-gun and Sendasho (now Tacho-cho),
they were donated by Tanesada Chiba late Kamakura period in 1323. During Muromachi
to the Warring States period
, the post town under the temple called Mama-juku or Ichikawa-juku were
flourished and developed and many visitors came and saw Mamasan Guhoji
In 1591, Ieyasu Tokugawa
, the founder of Edo Shogunate
, gave his shogunal charter to Mamasan Guhoji Temple for owning a piece
of land. And in 1695, his grandson Mitsukuni Mito visited.
Mamasan Guhoji Temple was introduced in many books, so it was the famous
landmark for flaming colored autumnal leaves. However it got fired and
lost several buildings in 1888. The most buildings in it was reconstructed
There is Tachi Daikokusontendo where a statue of Daikokuten carved by the
founder Nichiren is dedicated, a tea ceremony hall called Henrantei that
Mitsukuni Mito named, the bell tower called Koshibakama no Shoro, Niomon,
the weeping cherry tree called Fushihime Sakura, and stone tablets with
haiku poems of Issa Kobayashi, Shuoshi Mizuhara and Fusei Tomiyasu in the
site of Mamasan Guhoji Temple.
Ichikawa City Boad of Education
Translating from the information on the board in front of the Niomon Gate
of Mamasan Guhoji Temple
房総叢書 : 紀元二千六百年記念. 第8卷葛飾紀<br>
房総叢書 : 紀元二千六百年記念. 第6卷葛飾誌略
The Movie of Cherry Blossoms on Mamasan